top of page
Search
  • perigranfalcon

I am not an academic🧑‍🎓

When choosing an online course to learn how to code, I first chose a free online introduction to computer science course from Harvard offered through Edx. I quickly found that I wasn't able to understand many of the more difficult concepts of the C programming language such as data structures, multi-dimensional arrays, and accessing memory locations using pointers. 🕸


I also found that I wasn't interested in computer science terms such as Big O Notation, which is used to determine the complexity of algorithms. So, I decided to look into a free online web developer mini bootcamp offered from CareerFoundry. I did okay with the HTML and CSS, but I struggled a bit more with the JavaScript. However, I didn't necessarily like the teaching approach in the videos. 📺


What I ended up going with was Codecademy. Codecademy features a very easy to use interface, and their programs are taught from the beginners level. They have a handy smartphone app which allows me to review the material and take quizzes each day. I think that computer programming will always be just a hobby for me. I've found in my life that I just have to discover what I can do well, and then stick with that. 🙂






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page